Frankenstein’s Monster

earthrise-over-plastic

Hi, I’m a Frankenstein’s Monster.
Made by you, used by you
To ultimately destroy you and your habitat.
I was produced to fulfill one of your many needs,
But over the time,
So obsessively useful I became,
That soon I was all around the places.
In every nook and corner,
In every small little things.
Every day, Everywhere!

hqdefault

I’ve become the cancer in the throat of the drains,
In the belly of the mud,
In the veins of the water,
Refusing to be decomposed,
Adamant and stubborn,
Flying in the air.

Over the years, I’ve become
One of the strongest enemies of your Mother Earth,
And it will take a lifetime for her to wipe me out.
While I continue to choke,
Its saplings, its animals,
Its humans, its oceans and its breath.
Yes! I’m the plastic. I’m the plastic.

1225401-061146-4x229015

In this world expenses are new sky rockets,
I’m here the cheapest.
Survival is getting difficult,
I’m exchanged freely.
Do you have any idea of
what danger are you throwing yourselves into?

Coffee is drunk in plastic cups,
Food is eaten in plastic plates.
They are used and thrown freely.
Like offered to God, served to the poor,
And dumped in the Earth.

Stagnant I stand,
Suffocated I lie,
Rotten less and Compost free,
Breeding with a pace of tones per hour,
Choking the Earth breath by breath.
O wise humans, O wisest of them all
Have you really made a benefiting call?

Contributed By:

dp
Pankhuri
has recently finished her Masters of Arts in English Literature. Grown up reading and imagining stories, she believes that ideas and stories have massive potential to make a difference. An ardent follower of #DoWhatYouLove movement, she loves writing and meeting new people. An ardent lover of arts, culture and literature, she also enjoys dancing, travelling and exploring new arenas. She has interned with Human Circle as a Content Writer and has already prepared her bag with new opportunities. Currently she’s mastering self-discipline.

Leave a comment